Attendees

Attendees

Full attendee Twitter list: twitter.com/civicMIT/civicmedia2012.

Chris Abraham, New York
OpenPlans

Rick Abrams, Watertown, MA
Scholastic

Nadav Aharony (@nadavaha), San Francisco
Behavio

Sara Al-Bassam, New York
ITP, New York University

Yvette Alberdingk Thijm (@witnessyvette), Brooklyn
WITNESS

Rosental Alves (@Rosental), Austin
Knight Center for Journalism in the Americas

Laura Amico (@LauraNorton), Washington, DC
Homicide Watch

Justin Arenstein (@JustinArenstein), South Africa
African Media Initiative/International Center for Journalists

Lloyd Armbrust (@larmbrust), Austin
Knight Enterprise Fund Investee

Hallie Atkins (@halliepotter), Miami
Knight Foundation

Martin Bachwerk (@Topify_net), Dublin
Topify.net/Trinity College Dublin

Joyce Barnathan (@joycebarnathan), Washington, DC
International Center for Journalists

Chris Barr (@heychrisbarr), Miami
Knight Foundation

David Beard (@dabeard), Washington
Washington Post

Nicole Belanger (@cctvcambridge), Cambridge
Cambridge Community Television

Emily Bell (@emilybell), New York
Columbia Journalism School

Story Bellows (@storybellows), Philadelphia
Mayor's Office of New Urban Mechanics

Don Belt (@dbelt50), Reston, VA
National Geographic

Joshua Benton (@jbenton), Cambridge
Nieman Journalism Lab

Tim Berners-Lee, Cambridge
W3C/MIT

Rahul Bhargava (@rahulbot), Boston
MIT Center for Civic Media

Larry Birnbaum, Evanston, IL
Northwestern University/Knight News Innovation Lab

Adam Bluestein (@adambluestein), Burlington, VT
Fast Company, Inc. Magazine

Mark Boas (@maboa), Florence, Italy
Knight Mozilla Open News

Leo Bonanni (@sourcemap), Cambridge
Sourcemap

Sean Bonner (@seanbonner), Los Angeles/Tokyo
Safecast

David Bornstein (@dnbornstein), New York
New York Times, Solutions Journalism Network

Brian Boyer (@brianboyer), Chicago
Chicago Tribune/PANDA Project

John Bracken (@jsb), Chicago
Knight Foundation

Tyler Bridges, Cambridge
Nieman Fellow

Cody Brown (@codybrown), New York
scroll kit

Schuyler Brown (@schuylerbrown), New York
Skyelab NY

Jon Bruner (@JonBruner), New York
Forbes Magazine

Leo Burd (@leoburd), Cambridge
MIT Center for Civic Media

James Burns (@jameburn), Cambridge
Zeega

Sean Carlson (@seancarlson), New York
Google

Matt Carroll (@GlobeMattC), Boston
Boston Globe/boston.com

Cathy Casserly, Mountain View
Creative Commons

David Chandler (@_dlc_), Cambridge
MIT News

Kenyatta Cheese (@kenyatta), New York
Unmediated Inc.

Farai Chideya (@faraichideya), Boston & New York
Harvard Institute of Politics

Dante Chinni (@dchinni), Washington, DC
Patchwork Nation

Janet Coats (@janetcoats), Sarasota, FL
Coats2Coats, The Patterson Foundation

Sarah Cohen (@sarahduke), Washington, DC
Duke University

Ben Colmery (@bencolmery4), Washington
International Center for Journalists

Ian Condry (@iancondry), Cambridge
MIT Comparative Media Studies

Blaine Cook (@blaine), London
Independent

Aimee Corrigan (@aimee_corrigan), Cambridge
Nollywood Workshops

Sasha Costanza-Chock (@schock), Cambridge
MIT

Kate Crawford (@katecrawford), Cambridge
Microsoft Research

Susan Crawford, Cambridge
Harvard Kennedy School and Harvard Law School

Jim Crutchfield, Marblehead, OH
Knight Foundation

Jonathan Curiel, San Francisco
Wikimedia Foundation

Jessie Dann, Youngstown, OH
WFMJ TV and Arizona State

Keya Dannenbaum, Philadelphia
ElectNext

Kate Darling (@grok_), Cambridge
MIT Media Lab

John Davidow (@johndavidow), Boston
WBUR/OpenCourt

Chase Davis (@chasedavis), Sacramento, CA
Center for Investigative Reporting

Charlie DeTar (@cdetar), Cambridge
MIT Media Lab

Catherine D'Ignazio (@kanarinka), Waltham, MA
The Institute for Infinitely Small Things

Shannon Dosemagen (@PublicLab/sdosemagen), New Orleans
Public Laboratory for Open Technology & Science

Hannah Eaves (@hannahe), San Francisco
Link TV

Anna Ebbesen (@annaebbesen), Washington
Ashoka US

Justin Ellis (@Justinnxt), Cambridge
Nieman Journalism Lab

Paula Ellis, Miami
Knight Foundation

Cody Elmore (@codyelmor), Lincoln, NE
Knight Foundation

Tiana Epps-Johnson (@tianaej), Washington
New Organizing Institute Education Fund

Engin Erdogan (@erdogan), New York
Itemology

Adriano Farano (@farano), Palo Alto
Watchup

Susan Fienberg, Cambridge
MIT Comparative Media Studies

Pam Fine (@Pamfine), Lawrence, KS
University of Kansas

Charlie Firestone (@cfirestone), Washington, DC
The Aspen Institute

Seth Flaxman (@sethflaxman), Brooklyn
TurboVote

Corey Ford (@coreyford), Palo Alto
Public Media Accelerator

Donna Frisby-Greenwood (@DafrizzG), Philadelphia
Knight Foundation

Ben Fry (@ben_fry), Boston
Fathom Information Design

Dawn Garcia (@degarciaknight), Stanford, CA
John S. Knight Journalism Fellowships

Kate Gardiner (@kategardiner), New York
distill

Alan Gardner, Cambridge
Behavio

David Gehring, Palo Alto
Youtube/Google

Zanna Gilbert, New York
SnagFilms

Cole Gillespie (@theCole), Berlin
Mozilla/Knight Foundation

Jessica Goldfin (@jgoldfin), Miami
Knight Foundation

Andrew Golis (@agolis), Boston
FRONTLINE

David Gordon (@MITFoundations), Cambridge
MIT Office of Foundation Relations

Rich Gordon (@richgor), Chicago
Medill School/Northwestern University/Knight News Innovation Laboratory

Elyse Graham (@elyse.graham), Cambridge
MIT

Dan Grech (@Dgrech), Miami
WLRN-Miami Herald News

Sam Gregory (@samgregory), Brooklyn
WITNESS

Laurian Gridinoc (@gridinoc), London
Knight-Mozilla OpenNews

Nick Grossman (@nickgrossman), Boston
Netizen Effect

Hernán Guaracao (@ALDIACEO), Philadelphia
ALDIACEO

Yesica Guerra (@cronicasdheroes), Providence, RI
Research Affiliate of Center of Civic Media

Jorge Luis Sierra Guzmán (@latinointx), Panama
ICFJ

Matt Haggman (@matthaggman), Miami
Knight Foundation

Mark Hallett (@MHALLETT), Chicago
McCormick Foundation

Matt Hampel (@matth), Detroit & San Francisco
Code for America

Ted Han (@knowtheory), Columbia, MO
DocumentCloud

Catherine Havasi (@havasi), Cambridge
MIT Media Lab

Mark Headd (@mheadd), Wilmington, DE
Code for America

Liz Henry (@lizhenry), San Francisco
BlogHer

Chris Hermanowicz (@chermanowicz), San Francisco
Chute

Jeff Hermes (@citmedialaw), Cambridge
Digital Media Law Project

Felipe Heusser (@fheusser), Santiago
Peepol.tv

Rick Hirsch (@rickhirsch), Miami
The Miami Herald

Hilary Hoeber (@hilaryhb), San Francisco
IDEO

Henry Holtzman (@holtzman), Cambridge
MIT Media Lab

Brant Houston (@Branthouston), Urbana, IL
University of Illinois

Alex Howard (@digiphile), Washington
O'Reilly Media

Jeffrey Howe (@crowdsourcing), Cambridge
Northeastern University

Elise Hu (@elisewho), Washington, DC
NPR

Nicola Hughes (@DataMinerUK), London
Open News

Ginny Hunt (@ginnyhunt), Washington, DC
Google

Becky Hurwitz (@beckyhurwitz), Cambridge
MIT Center for Civic Media

Alberto Ibargüen (@ibarguen), Miami
Knight Foundation

Joi Ito (@joi), Cambridge
MIT Media Lab

Anna Jacobsen (@annagjacobsen), Fresno, CA
Health Media Coordinator

Waldo Jaquith (@waldojaquith), Charlottesville, VA
The State Decoded

Jeff Jarvis (@jeffjarvis), New York
CUNY

Nancy Jones (@nancyjones), Miami
The Miami Foundation

Josh Kalven (@jkalven), San Francisco
Newsbound

Colleen Kaman, Cambridge

Syed Karim (@syedkarim), Warsaw
MDLF/Digital News Ventures

Gary Kebbel (@GaryKebbel), Lincoln, NE
University of Nebraska

John Keefe (@jkeefe), New York
WNYC New York Public Radio

Nathaniel Kelso, San Francisco
Stamen Design

Kulsoom Khan (@kulsoomKkhan), Washington, DC
Ashoka

Jamilah King (@jamilahking), New York
Colorlines.com

Scott Kirsner (@ScottKirsner), Boston
Boston Globe

Erin Kissane (@kissane), Brooklyn
Knight-Mozilla OpenNews

Judith Kleinberg (@knightsanjosesv), Palo Alto
Knight Foundation

David Kobia (@dkobia), Atlanta
Ushahidi

Staci D. Kramer (@sdkstl), University City, MO
paidContent/GigaOM

Paul Krasinski, Austin
Umbel

Kelley Kreitz, Cambridge
MIT

Raina Kumra (@rainakumra), New York
Broadcasting Board of Governors/ Juggernaut

Michael Kupperman (@MKupperman), New York
Fantagraphics Books

Laura Kurgan, New York
SIDL, Columbia University

Stewart Langille (@visually), San Francisco
Visually

Carl Lavin (@FromCarl), Atlanta
CNN.com

Elizabeth Lawley, Rochester, NY
Rochester Institute of Technology

Amy Starlight Lawrence (@amystarlight), Miami
Knight Foundation

Jennifer Lee (@jenny8lee), New York
Upworthy

Jessica Lee, Washington
Tea Leaf Nation

Melinda Lee (@karmarocks), New York
Getty Images/Uncensored Interview

Lorrie LeJeune (@lorrielej), Cambridge
MIT Center for Civic Media

Alyssa Lenhoff (@alyssajl), Youngstown, OH
Youngstown State University

Scott Lewis (@vosdscott), San Diego
Voice of San Diego

Andrew Lewman (@torproject), Boston
The Tor Project, Inc.

Alvin Liang, Burlingame, CA
recovers.org

Rogelio Lopez (@Tochtli_exe), Cambridge
MIT Center for Civic Media

Jessica Lord (@jllord), San Francisco
Code for America

Gilad Lotan (@gilgul), New York
SocialFlow

Ronnie Lovler (@ronnielov), Bogota
International Center for Journalists

Jonathan Lundell (@jklundell), Palo Alto
Watchup

Marika Lynch (@marikalynch), Miami
Knight Foundation

Julia Ma, Cambridge, MA
Liveblogger

Colin Maclay (@cmac), Salem, MA
Berkman Center

Michael Maness (@michaelmaness), Miami
Knight Foundation

Greg Marra (@gregmarra), San Francisco
Google

Chris Marstall (@marstall), Boston
The Boston Globe

Adam Martin (@adamjmartin), Washington, DC
BBG, Office of Digital & Design Innovation

J. Nathan Matias (@natematias), Boston
MIT Center for Civic Media

Emily May (@ihollaback), Brooklyn
Hollaback!

Higinio Maycotte, Austin
Umbel

Lori McGlinchey (@macvie), New York
Open Society Foundations

Robert McMillan (@bobmcmillan), San Francisco
Wired

Haroon Meer (@haroonmeer), South Africa
Thinkst Applied Research

Jeremy Mims (@jeremymims), New York
OwnLocal

David Moore (@ppolitics), New York
Participatory Politics Foundation

Malcolm Moran (@malcolm_moran), State College, PA
Penn State University

Dana Morrissey, New York
Iraq and Afghanistan Veterans of America

Ben Moskowitz (@benrito), San Francisco
Mozilla

Anjali Mullany (@anjalimullany), New York
Fast Company

Miranda Mulligan (@mirandamulligan), Boston
The Boston Globe

Justin Myers (@myersjustinc), Arlington, VA
PBS NewsHour

Kate Mytty (@kmitts), Cambridge
Work @ MIT

Mohamed Nanabhay (@mohamed), Doha
Former Head of Online, Al Jazeera English

Gregarious Narain (@gregarious), San Francisco
Chute

Eric Newton, Miami
Knight Foundation

Mike Norman (@mikejnorman), Cambridge
Wefunder

Max Novendstern (@mnovendstern), Cambridge
CommonPlace

Keith Oatley, Toronto
University of Toronto

Kara Oehler (@karaoehler), Cambridge
Zeega

Max Ogden (@maxogden), Oakland, CA
Code for America

Daniel O'Neil (@juggernautco), Chicago
Smart Chicago Collaborative

Caitria O'Neill (@recovers_org), Cambridge
recovers.org

Morgan O'Neill, Cambridge
Recovers.org

Lu Ortiz (@luortiz), Mexico City
Nova Mexico Digital Solutions

Greg Osberg, Philadelphia
Philadelphia Media Network

William Papper (@WilliamPapper), New York
BitMissile

Jim Paradis, Boston
MIT Comparative Media Studies

Mayur Patel (@mayurhpatel), Miami
Knight Foundation

Susan Patterson (@knightcharlotte), Charlotte, NC
Knight Foundation

Miguel Paz (@miguelpaz), Santiago
Poderopedia

Andrew Phelps (@andrewphelps), Cambridge
Nieman Journalism Lab

Michael Poffenberger (@mvpoff), Washington, DC
Executive Director, Resolve

Aaron Presnall (@apresnall), Washington, DC
Jefferson Institute

David Puett, New York

Hong Qu (@hqu), New York
Upworthy

Intisar Rabb (@islawmix), Cambridge
Harvard Law School/Berkman Center

Bahia Ramos (@bahiaramos), Miami
Knight Foudation

Laura Ramos, San Francisco
Gannett

Colin Raney, Cambridge
IDEO/MIT Media Lab

Alexis Rapo (@arapo), Boston
WGBH

Kate Ray (@kraykray), New York
scroll kit

Paula Recart (@precart), Washington, DC
Ashoka

Tim Regan-Porter (@timreganporter), Macon, GA
Mercer University, Center for Collaborative Journalism

Karen Reilly (@akareilly), Washington
The Tor Project

Pablo Rey Mazón (@numeroteca), Cambridge
MIT Center for Civic Media/Basurama/Meipi

Peter Richardson (@meetar), Brooklyn

Hal Roberts (@cyberhalroberts), Memphis, TN
Berkman Center for Internet & Society at Harvard University

Eric Rodenbeck (@stamen), San Francisco
Stamen Design

Fernando Rodriguez-Vila (@nandorvila), Miami
Univision

Paulo Rogerio (@paulorogerio81), Washington
Fulbright Humphrey Fellow, Brazil

Dharmishta Rood (@Dharmishta), Cambridge
Harvard Business School

David Rosenberg (@david_rosenberg), London
foursquare

Elena Rue (@storyminemedia), Carrboro, NC
StoryMineMedia

Ayman Salah (@aymansalah1970), Amman
ICFJ

Eric Schoenborn (@knightfdn), Miami
Knight Foundation

Dan Schultz (@slifty), Boston
MIT Center for Civic Media/Boston Globe

Gary Scott (@garyrobertscott), Santa Monica, CA
KCRW

Brad Seawell (@bradseawell), Cambridge
MIT

Charles Sennott (@cmsennott), Boston
GlobalPost

Jesse Shapins (@jshapins), Cambridge
Zeega

Jake Shapiro (@jakeshapiro), Cambridge
PRX.org

Andrew Sherry (@andysherry), Miami
Knight Foundation

Ryan Sholin (@ryansholin), McLean, VA
Gannett Digital

Ivan Sigal (@ivonotes), Washington, DC
Global Voices

Dan Sinker (@dansinker), Chicago
Knight-Mozilla OpenNews

Andrew Slack (@thehpalliance), Somerville, MA
The Harry Potter Alliance

Scott Smallwood (@ssmallwd), Washington
Chronicle of Higher Education

Christopher Sopher (@cksopher), Miami
Knight Foundation

Peter Spear (@pspear), Hudson, NY
Spear Brand Consulting

Jeff Stanger, (@jeffcdi), Washington
Center for Digital Information

Matt Stempeck (@mstem), Cambridge
MIT Center for Civic Media

Nick Stenning (@nickstenning), Cambridge, UK
Open Knowledge Foundation

Matt Stiles (@stiles), Washington, DC
NPR

Jonathan Stray (@jonathanstray), New York
Overview Project

Akiko Sugaya (@AkikoSugaya), Cambridge
Nieman Fellow

Cody Sumter (@codys), Cambridge
Behavio

Huan Sun (@sunnyhuanny), Cambridge
MIT Comparative Media Studies, Center for Civic Media

Mark Surman (@msurman), Toronto
Mozilla

Andrew Sussman, Boston
Public Radio International - The World

Kate Tellers, New York
The Moth

Ankur Thakkar (@ankurthakkar), Chicago
Chicago Mayor's Office

Jennifer Thomas, Akron, OH
Knight Foundation

Patricia Thomas (@ugahealthjourn), Athens, GA
University of Georgia

Ryan Thornburg (@rtburg), Chapel Hill, NC
University of North Carolina School of Journalism & Mass Communication

Kristen Titus (@kristentitus), New York
Girls Who Code

Jenny Toomey (@jennytoomey), Washington, DC
Ford Foundation

Jeff Ubois (@jeffubois), Chicago
The MacArthur Foundation

Chris Vein, Washington
U.S. Government, Office of Science and Technology Policy

Jon Vidar (@jonkaj), Los Angeles
The Tiziano Project

Anne von Petersdorff-Campen, Washington
Ashoka US

Robin Wachsberger, New York
The Moth

Steven Waldman (@stevenwaldman), Brooklyn
Columbia Journalism School

Benjamen Walker (@benjamenwalker), New York
WFMU

Melinda Ward, Minneapolis
Public Radio International

Jeffrey Warren, Somerville, MA
Public Lab

Edward Wasserman (@edwardwasserman), Lexington, VA
Washington & Lee University

Anthea Watson (@antheaws), Washington
Google

Amy Webb (@webbmedia), Washington, DC
Webbmedia Group

David Wertime (@tealeafnation), Washington
Tea Leaf Nation

Andrew Whitacre (@akwhitacre), Cambridge
MIT Center for Civic Media

John Wihbey (@JournoResource), Cambridge
Harvard Shorenstein Center

Lisa Williams (@lisawilliams ), Cambridge
Placeblogger

Holmes Wilson, Worcester, MA
Fight for the Future

Kinsey Wilson (@kinseywilson), Washington
NPR

Benoit Wirz (@bthewirz), Miami
Knight Foundation

Sarah Wolozin, Cambridge
MIT

Caroline Woolard (@TradeSchoolNY), Brooklyn
OurGoods.org, TradeSchool.coop, SolidarityNYC.org

Christina Xu (@chrysaora), Somerville, MA
Institute on Higher Awesome Studies

Jose Zamora (@jczamora), Miami
Univision

Dan Zedak, Boston
The Boston Globe

Ethan Zuckerman (@ethanz), Pittsfield, MA
MIT Center for Civic Media